Video Streaming Rates and Routing Protocol Reconfigurations

Applied Networking Research Prize Winners Present in Berlin

By: Mat Ford

Date: November 1, 2013

line break image

The Internet Research Task Force (IRTF) played host to two excellent talks from the latest crop of Applied Networking Research Prize winners at their recent meeting in Berlin during IETF 87. First up was Te-Yuan (TY) Huang, a PhD student from Stanford University who presented her work on the behaviour of video streaming codecs in the presence of competing flows (for full details, see the paper for which Te-Yuan won her award: Te-Yuan Huang, Nikhil Handigol, Brandon Heller, Nick McKeown and Ramesh Johari. Confused, Timid, and Unstable: Picking a Video Streaming Rate is Hard. Proc. ACM Internet Measurement Conference (IMC), November 2012, Boston, MA, USA.).

The quality of Te-Yuan’s work is amply demonstrated by the fact that her results have already influenced changes in the way major, online video streaming services operate. Slides from TY’s presentation are available online at At the ACM Sigcomm 2013 workshop on future human-centric multimedia networking, some follow-on work was also presented (

TY’s talk was followed by Laurent Vanbever, a postdoctoral research associate at Princeton University. Laurent presented a novel framework to deal with the difficulties of performing reconfiguration of the routing fabric of a network without causing transient instabilities. He presented results showing that the proposed framework achieves a lossless reconfiguration of a European-wide network. For full details, see the paper for which Laurent won the award: Stefano Vissicchio, Laurent Vanbever, Cristel Pelsser, Luca Cittadini, Pierre Francois and Olivier Bonaventure. Improving Network Agility with Seamless BGP Reconfigurations. Proc. IEEE/ACM Transactions on Networking (TON), To Appear. Laurent’s slides are available at

The final ANRP awards for 2013 will be presented during the IETF 88 meeting later this year, and the call for nominations for the 2014 award cycle is now open. Nominations can be submitted at until 30 November 2013.