Message from the IETF Chair

By: Russ Housley

Date: June 1, 2010

line break image

Russ Housley, IETF Chair
With more than 1,350 individuals from 48 countries in attendance, IETF 77 provided evidence that the commitment to the work being done by the IETF is as strong as ever. The meeting, which was held in March 2010 in Anaheim, California, ended with significant progress being made in a number of areas.

Unfortunately, we were unable to secure a host for IETF 77. As a result, some of the amenities that attendees had come to expect, such as T-shirts and the Tuesday evening social event, were not provided.

Fortunately, sponsorship for the meeting was strong. We received contributions from Booz Allen Hamilton, Comcast, IPSO Alliance, National Cable & Telecommunications Association, Time Warner Cable, and the U.S. National Institute of Standards and Technology. I would like to offer my heartfelt appreciation to those organizations for their roles in making IETF 77 a successful meeting.

Since IETF 76, 11 new working groups (WGs) have been chartered, and 6 WGs were closed, resulting in a total of 125 chartered WGs. Between the two meetings, the WGs and their individual contributors produced 521 new Internet-Drafts and updated 1,181 existing Internet-Drafts, some more than once. The Internet Engineering Steering Group (IESG) approved 146 Internet-Drafts for publication as RFCs, and the RFC Editor published 124 new RFCs.

The Nominations Committee completed its work prior to IETF 77, and the membership of the Internet Architecture Board (IAB), IESG, and IETF Administrative Oversight Committee (IAOC) transitioned in April. On behalf of the entire IETF community, I would like to recognize the contributions and dedication of the outgoing IAB, IESG, and IAOC members. They have provided a real service for the Internet community.

In particular, the following dedicated individuals deserve everyone’s thanks and appreciation: Gonzalo Camarillo (2008-10), Stuart Cheshire (2008-10), Gregory Lebovitz (2008-10), Andrew Malis (2008-10), and David Oran (2006-10) of the IAB; Ross Callon (RTG AD: 2006-10), Lisa Dusseault (APP AD: 2006-10), Pasi Eronen (SEC AD: 2008-10), Cullen Jennings (RAI AD: 2006-10), and Magnus Westerlund (TSV AD: 2006-10) of the IESG; and Fred Baker (2007-10) of the IAOC.

I challenge the incoming IAB, IESG, and IAOC members to provide comparable levels of service and dedication.

The RFC Editor has implemented the changes documented in RFC 5741. Please note that the upper left corner of the title page indicates the source of the RFC. I’m also happy to report that all of our RFCs now proudly read Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) on the title page.

The RFC Editor has provided status pages for every RFC. Pick your favourite RFC and check it out

IETF 78 will be held in Maastricht, Netherlands, 25-30 July 2010, hosted by SIDN. As always, scheduling information for upcoming IETF meetings can be found here . I look forward to seeing you in July.

This article was posted on 26 June 2010 .