IRTF Update

By: Lars Eggert

Date: March 1, 2013

line break image

During IETF 85 in Atlanta, Georgia, U.S.A., four chartered Internet Research Task Force (IRTF) research groups (RGs) held meetings:

·      DTNRG—Delay-tolerant Networking

·      ICCRG—Internet Congestion Control

·      ICNRG—Information-centric Networking

·      NCRG—Network Complexity

In addition, a new, proposed research group on software-defined networking held a very-well-attended meeting. Despite a broad problem space that will require further refining, the group is on a good trajectory to be officially chartered by IETF 86.

Since IETF 84, one new RFC was published on the IRTF RFC Stream: RFC 6693, “Probabilistic Routing Protocol for Intermittently Connected Networks,” out of the DTNRG.

The last two Applied Networking Research Prize (ANRP) winners of 2012 presented their research at IETF 85’s IRTF Open Meeting. Srikanth Sundaresan presented his measurement study of access-link performance on home gateway devices, and Peyman Kazemian presented his general and protocol-agnostic framework for statically checking network specifications and configurations. (Alberto Dainotti, the first ANRP winner of 2012, presented at IETF 84.)

The ANRP’s 2013 nomination cycle has concluded, and 36 nominations were received. The selection committee is reviewing them and is scheduled to select the prize winners during the spring of 2013. We expect the first ANRP winners of 2013 to present their work during the IRTF Open Meeting of IETF 86. See for more information about the award and past winners.