Applied Networking Research Prize Winners Announced – November 2017

By: Mat Ford

Date: October 31, 2017

line break image

The Applied Networking Research Prize (ANRP) is awarded for recent results in applied networking research that are relevant for transitioning into shipping Internet products and related standardization efforts. The ANRP awards presented during IETF 99 went to the following two individuals:

  • Stephen Checkoway for a systematic analysis of the Juniper Dual EC incident. See the full paper at
  • Philipp Richter for a multiperspective analysis of carrier-grade NAT deployment. See the full paper at

Checkoway and Richter presented their findings to the Internet Research Task Force open meeting during IETF 99. Slides are available at and Thanks to Meetecho, audio and video from the presentations is also available at (from 00:11:20).

ANRP winners have been selected for all of the IETF meetings in 2017. The following winners will be next to present their work at the IETF 100 meeting in Singapore:

  • Paul Emmerich, a research associate at the Technical University of Munich. Emmerich will present his work to develop the high-speed packet generator, MoonGen.
  • Roland van Rijswijk-Deij, a researcher at the Centre for Telematics and Information Technology (CTIT) at the University of Twente. Van Rijswijk-Deij will present his analysis of the impact of elliptic curve cryptography on DNSSEC validation performance.

The call for nominations for the 2018 ANRP award cycle is closed. Join the irtf-announce mailing list at to receive all ANRP related notifications.