Networking Research

Applied Networking Research Prize Winners

By: Mat Ford

Date: July 6, 2016

line break image
IRTF Open Meeting, Applied Networking Researh Prize (ANRP) Award winners: Roya Ensafi and Zakir Durumeric.
ANRP winner Roya Ensafi

The Applied Networking Research Prize (ANRP) is awarded for recent results in applied networking research that are relevant for transitioning into shipping Internet products and related standardization efforts. The ANRP awards presented during IETF 95 went to the following two individuals:

Roya Ensafi. For examining how the Chinese “great firewall” discovers hidden circumvention servers. See the full paper at

Zakir Durumeric. For an empirical analysis of email delivery security. See the full paper at

Roya and Zakir presented their findings to the Internet Research Task Force open meeting during IETF 95.

ANRP Award winner Zakir Durumeric
ANRP winner Zakir Durumeric

Slides are available at and

Thanks to Meetecho, audio/video from the presentations is available at (from 00:05:30).

ANRP winners have been selected for all of the IETF meetings in 2016. The following winners will present at the IETF 96 meeting in Berlin:

Samuel Jero, a postgraduate researcher at Purdue University. Samuel will present a security analysis of the QUIC protocol.

Dario Rossi, a professor at the computer science and networking department of TELECOM ParisTech. Dario will present on characterizing anycast adoption and deployment in the IPv4 Internet.

The call for nominations for the 2017 ANRP award cycle opens in July. Join the [email protected] mailing list for all ANRP related notifications.